Travel Thursday | Books

Happy Thursday, dear ones! I hope that the new year has treated you well so far. My life is still as busy as ever, but I’m learning to make do. Only 141 more days until graduation. I keep wishing for it to come faster, but I know I will miss high school in the future (maybe).

As for today’s post, I am cheating a bit. I have not traveled anywhere significant in the past few months, so I do not have really have anything to write about for Travel Thursday. However, in the midst of my brainstorming, I derived an idea! Today I will be writing about the most recent books I have read and enjoyed because you know, reading totally counts as traveling–I mean I’m technically traveling into the worlds of the characters, right?

One of my new years resolutions was to read more, and I think I have gotten off to a good start. Here are a some of the most recent books I have read and highly recommend:

Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom 

A friend in class recommended this book to me. To be honest, it is not something I would usually read. Though I prefer to stick to fiction novels, I ultimately decided to try this book out, and I am glad that I did. This book centers around a young man and the lessons he has learned and is still learning from his professor, Morrie, who is dying of ALS. Morrie’s self-discipline and life advice is wise beyond words. I find myself taking pieces of Morrie with me wherever I go.

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch 

The librarian at my school recommended this book to me when she saw me reading Tuesdays With Morrie. Both of these books have the same central theme and message, but I was definitely more affected by this one. It is a book of life advice by Randy Pausch, a Computer Science professor at Carnegie Mellon University, who is dying of pancreatic cancer. I thought this was a beautiful book with a beautiful message. Pausch was able to give on last lecture before he passed away and it is entitled “How to Achieve your Childhood Dreams.” It is amazing and inspiring. You may watch it here.

The Lovely Bones by Alice Seabold

The-Lovely-Bones-

Okay, I feel like this book was really popular a few years ago, and I’m really late with reading it, but I could NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN TO SAVE MY LIFE. I think the book is extremely  unique. Seabold has the talent to portray normal events in a subjective and beautiful way. The book focuses on the murder of fourteen-year-old Susie Salmon, who spends the majority of the novel watching her friends and family from “her heaven.” It has a distinctive twist on how the afterlife is perceived, and I believe it has a beautiful, simple ending.

 

That’s all for now folks!

xoxo serena

Leave a Reply

